What You Need to Know About Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Florida

Dec 23, 2021 - Car Accidents

Most people have heard of uninsured motorist coverage before, but a lot of them don’t know what purpose it serves. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Jacksonville auto accident attorneys to learn more about this form of coverage and how it may help you if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. Here are some of the questions you may have:

Do I have to carry uninsured motorist coverage in Florida?

Though many states require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, this is not the case in Florida. However, insurance companies are required to offer $10,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person and up to $20,000 per accident. Though you can refuse to purchase uninsured motorist coverage in writing, it is typically best to purchase this insurance, for a multitude of reasons. 

What is the purpose of uninsured motorist coverage in Florida?

Typically, when someone is injured in an auto accident that was caused by another driver, they will sue that driver’s insurance company for the financial compensation they need to help cover the cost of their medical bills, lost wages, and more. Though most people do have auto insurance, you should note that here in Florida, roughly 1/4 of all drivers do not have insurance. If one of these drivers caused your auto accident, rather obviously, you can’t sue their insurance company for compensation, as they don’t have one. This is where uninsured motorist coverage comes in. If you purchase uninsured motorist coverage, you can actually file a claim with your own insurance company to help you receive the compensation you need to get back on your feet again. 

How long do I have to bring a car accident claim?

If you are injured in an auto accident, it is paramount that you bring your claim timely. The statute of limitations for auto accident claims in Florida is, typically, four years. Unfortunately, some people make the mistake of waiting past the four-year mark to bring their claim–don’t be one of them. Waiting longer than four years will most likely result in you permanently losing your right to sue. For any further questions, or if you are ready to get started, simply pick up the phone or contact our Jacksonville personal injury attorneys online today. 

Contact our experienced Florida firm

Ansbacher Law is composed of knowledgeable attorneys who are ready to assist clients with various legal matters throughout North Florida. We understand the urgency of your personal injury claim and additional legal matters, which is why we provide each of our clients with compassionate and efficient legal assistance, every step of the way. Please contact our office for an initial consultation today.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts